The Statue of Liberty
Ellis Island Award

Our 2023 Celebration

The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation looks forward to welcoming you to our 2023 Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Award on May 25 at the Ellis Island National Museum of Immigration.


Agnes Hsu-Tang, Ph.D. is the first Asian American to lead an American history museum, as Board Chair of the New-York Historical Society, New York’s first museum founded in 1804; she is also Co-Chair of The Met Museum’s Objects Conservation Visiting Committee.

Born in Taipei and educated in the U.S. and England in Archaeology and Art History, Dr. Hsu-Tang served on UNESCO scientific committees and participated in missions to Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan; she later advised President Obama’s Cultural Property Advisory Committee on the U.S.-China bilateral agreement to reduce the illicit trafficking of cultural objects. Dr. Hsu-Tang was a Mellon Fellow at Cambridge University and taught at Brown and Stanford, and has authored academic publications and white papers.  She was the host of History Channel’s Mysteries of China series and a Discovery Channel Asia contemporary art series that debuted during Art Basel Hong Kong in 2014.

A Classical musician, she performed at the Kennedy Center at 18 and was a Managing Director on the board of the Metropolitan Opera (2014-2021). Dr. Hsu-Tang co-founded The Yellow Whistle campaign to combat anti-Asian violence and xenophobia and is a recipient of IIE’s Centennial Medal for her work in cultural protection and rescue.

Photo by Elena Olivo

Clive Davis is considered the record industry’s most innovative, outspoken, and influential executive. His contributions to music are, to a large extent, responsible for bringing the industry to where it is today. Mr. Davis was directly responsible for signing many landmark artists, among them Janis Joplin’s Big Brother and The Holding Company; Blood, Sweat & Tears; Santana; Whitney Houston; The Grateful Dead; Bruce Springsteen; Aerosmith; and Earth, Wind and Fire.

Mr. Davis began his career at Columbia Records, went on to co-found Arista Records, collaborated with L.A. Reid and Babyface to form LaFace Records, established Bad Boy Records with Sean “Puffy” Combs, and most recently formed J Records. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and was the recipient of the Trustees Lifetime Achievement award by NARAS at the Grammy Awards.

Among his many humanitarian efforts, Mr. Davis works tirelessly in the battle against AIDS and supports the arts and education.

As Chairman of Liberty Mutual Insurance, the sixth-largest global property and casualty insurer, David Long leads the company’s board of directors, overseeing corporate activities and evaluating performance on behalf of Liberty Mutual stakeholders. 

Mr. Long began his career at the company in 1985 and held positions of increasing responsibility in Liberty Mutual’s International, Commercial Markets, Underwriting, Financial and Mergers and Acquisitions groups. He was elected Chief Executive Officer in 2011 and served in this role until December 2022. 

Mr. Long chairs the annual Aspire fundraiser at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH), which provides social services and development opportunities for children and young adults on the Autism spectrum. He also serves on MGH’s board of trustees. Additionally, Mr. Long is the chair of Hartwick College’s board of trustees and a board member of Eversource Energy and Ford’s Theatre in Washington, D.C. 

Born in Liverpool, England, Mr. Long is a proud immigrant. He immigrated to the U.S. in 1979 to attend Hartwick College on a soccer scholarship. He is now a dual American and British citizen.

Mr. Long earned a Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics from Hartwick College and a Master of Science in Finance from Boston College. He has been awarded honorary doctorate degrees from Hartwick College,Bentley University and Merrimack College. 


About the Award

The award honors those who embrace the best of what these beloved monuments represent: the unique tapestry woven from the stories of our nation’s immigrants and the role of America and its citizens in championing the ongoing global struggle for liberty and freedom.


The Venue

The ceremony takes place in the historic Registry Room at the Ellis Island National Museum of Immigration. This spectacular space welcomed more than 12 million immigrants as they embarked on a new life in a new land.

If you have any questions please email or call 212-601-2653.

Event Check-in

Guest transportation is provided by Statue City Cruises and departs from Battery Park.

Check-in begins at 5:30pm. Please proceed to the Battery Park Security Screening site, the large white tent along the park’s waterfront and adjacent to Castle Clinton National Monument.





The event ferry departs Battery Park at 6:00pm. After sailing past the Statue of Liberty, the ferry will dock at Ellis Island at 6:30pm. The return ferry will arrive back at Battery Park by 10:00pm.

If you have any questions please email or call 212-601-2653.

Words of Inspiration

Award recipients represent a broad spectrum of professions and interests from arts and sciences to business and culture. Among past honorees are Miguel Bezos, Gloria & Emilio Estefan, Dr. Anthony Fauci, Diane von Furstenberg, Josie Natori, Colin Powell, Bruce Springsteen, and Oprah Winfrey.  A full list of honorees can be found here.